Skip Navigation Links

 MCH Leaders Honored with 2017 AMCHP Awards

MCH Leaders Honored with AMCHP Awards

The winners of the 2017 AMCHP awards for excellence in child and maternal health have been announced! The awards were presented at the AMCHP annual conference to recognize innovation; excellence in state leadership; family leadership; leadership in promoting societal responsiveness to the needs of women, youth and families; emerging professionals; and leadership by a youth with disabilities.

See the list of winners. View photos from the awards presentations here.   

Merle McPherson Leadership Award for exemplary contributions to further family/professional collaboration within the state Title V program and AMCHP: 
Rylin Rodgers

Vince Hutchins Leadership Award for leadership in promoting a society responsive to the needs of women, children, youth and families:
Dr. Lewis Margolis

John C. MacQueen Lecture Award for innovation in the field of maternal and child health:
Dr. Christina Bethell

Region Emerging MCH Professional Awards for outstanding state or local MCH professionals under age 45:
Region II: Kristen Lawless
Region IV: Michael Weinrauch
Region V: Katy Schalla-Lesiak
Region VI: Kelsey Anderson
Region VII: Marcus Johnson-Miller
Region VIII: Danielle Marks
Region IX: Dr. Anaise Marie Uso
Region X: Dr. Jared Parrish

Excellence in State MCH Leadership Award for an outstanding state MCH professional whose career has made significant contributions to the health of women, children and families in their state:
Stephanie Wrightsman-Birch

Ryan Colburn Scholarship Award for outstanding leadership by a youth with disabilities
Edward Esbeck