NACCHO Community Guide Implementation Capacity Building Mini Grants
Deadline: Dec. 31
The National Association of County and City Health Officials (NACCHO) invites local health departments (LHDs) to apply for the Community Guide Implementation Capacity Building program. This initiative is funded by CDC under the capacity building assistance to improve adoption and use of evidence-based preventive services program.  Four grantees will be selected and funded to participate in the NACCHO Community Guide technical assistance program and build upon existing community health assessment data to identify opportunities and build skills and competencies for the integration of recommendations. Grantees will also be required to complete a case study describing their successes and challenges in planning and adapting the evidence-based recommendations indicated in their action plan. The maximum grant funding available is $20,000. To view the application, please click here.

HUD Strong Cities, Strong Communities National Resource Network Grant
Deadline: Jan. 28
This Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD) will fund the development of the SC2 National Resource Network, which will align federal resources and coordinate distinct and wide-ranging technical assistance programs to help communities make more effective local investments. For more information, click here.

Medical Home Implementation for Children with Special Health Care Needs Grant
Deadline: Jan. 28
This announcement solicits applications for a National Center for Medical Home Implementation. The purpose of this activity is to: 1) support a national resource and technical assistance effort to implement and spread the medical home model to all children and youth, particularly children with special health care needs (CSHCN), children who are vulnerable and/or medically underserved, and pediatric populations served by state public health programs, MCHB and HRSA; and 2) support activities of the Healthy Tomorrows Partnership for Children Program (HTPCP) grantees to improve children’s health through innovative community-based efforts, and community and statewide partnerships among professionals in health, education, social services, government, and business. For more information, click here.

Lucille Packard Foundation for Children’s Health CSHCN Learning Collaborative Grant
Deadline: Feb. 8
The Lucile Packard Foundation for Children's Health seeks proposals from community-based, multi-agency coalitions in California with an interest in improving local systems of care coordination for children with special health care needs (CSHCN). Grants of up to $40,000 will be awarded, and grantees will be required to participate in a multi-site learning collaborative with other community coalitions. Proposals must address care coordination needs of CSHCN and their families in a geographically defined community, county, or region within California. At a minimum, coalitions should include the following key stakeholders as active participants: families of CSHCN, primary care professional association representative (e.g., American Academy of Pediatrics), California Children's Services, Regional Centers, and family resource and support providers. An informational webinar for applicants will be held on Jan. 10 at 1 p.m. PST. For more information, click here.

Robert Wood Johnson Foundation Nurse Faculty Scholars
Deadline: Feb. 12, 2013 at 3:00 p.m. EST
The goal of the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation Nurse Faculty Scholars (NFS) program is to develop the next generation of national leaders in academic nursing through career development awards for outstanding junior nursing faculty. The program aims to strengthen the academic productivity and overall excellence of nursing schools by providing mentorship, leadership training, and salary and research support to young faculty. Up to 12 awards of up to $350,000 each over three years will be available in this round of funding. For more information, click here.

Robert Wood Johnson Foundation Clinical Scholars
Deadline:  Feb. 28, 2013 at 5:00 p.m. EST
The Robert Wood Johnson Foundation (RWJF) and the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs (VA) are collaborating to foster the development of physicians who will lead the transformation of Americans’ health and health care through the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation Clinical Scholars program. These future leaders will conduct innovative research and work with communities, organizations, practitioners and policymakers to address issues essential to the health and well-being of all Americans. Up to 20 eligible physicians will be selected in 2013 for appointments beginning Jul. 1, 2014. First year scholar stipend is $67,000 with an increase the second year. In some cases, VA stipends may be higher. Additional financial support is provided for research projects and professional travel. For more information and to apply, click here.

University of Arizona Graduate Certificate Program in MCH Epidemiology Scholarship
Deadline: Mar. 1, 2013
The Mel and Enid Zuckerman College of Public Health is offering 10-15 scholarships to MCH professionals working with American Indian and underserved communities nationally. These scholarships valued at $11,685 each, will be awarded for the year 2013/14. The University of Arizona’s Graduate Certificate in Maternal & Child Health (MCH) Epidemiology is offered entirely online with no requirements for travel. The deadline to apply for applications to the program is Mar. 1, 2013. For more information and to apply, click here.

Robert Wood Johnson Foundation Executive Nurses Fellows
Deadline: Jan. 15, 2014 at 3 p.m. EST
The Robert Wood Johnson Foundation Executive Nurse Fellows program is a three-year advanced leadership program for nurses who aspire to lead and shape health care locally and nationally. Fellows strengthen and improve their leadership abilities related to improving health and health care. Awards are open to registered nurses who hold senior leadership positions in health services, scientific and academic organizations, public health and community-based organizations or systems, or national professional, governmental and policy organizations. For more information, click here.

CMS Cooperative Agreement to Support Establishment of Health Insurance Exchanges
Deadline: Oct. 15, 2014
Through this cooperative agreement, the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) will provide states, the District of Columbia, and consortia of states, with financial assistance for the establishment of exchanges. These awards will provide funds for the state to complete activities for achieving approval in accordance with Section 1321 of the Affordable Care Act and the requirements as established through the rulemaking process. For more information, click here.